Kern County College of Law believes that it is the first law school in California to implement a policy of protecting students from tuition increases during their course of study. As long as a student remains continuously enrolled in good academic standing at Kern County College of Law, their tuition rate will not increase. This unique policy by the KCCL Board of Trustees allows KCCL law students to estimate the entire cost of their law degree (excluding books and materials) at the time of their initial enrollment. In recent years, other law schools in California have increased tuition in-between academic years as much as 35%. Over the past six years, KCCL estimates that our tuition policy has resulted in more than $750,000 in lower tuition costs for KCCL students.

Annual tuition and fees are due in full at the time of registration. For those students in need of additional flexibility in paying their tuition and fees, MCL provides a tuition installment program (“TIP”). Under the TIP program, students are allowed to pay the annual amount due in monthly installments. Students wishing to use the TIP program must notify the MCL Business Manager during Fall semester registration period.

Tuition (per semster unit) for entering class 2016 $800.00
*Tuition rate for students admitted in prior years was set at initial enrollment. Applicants for Fall 2016 may apply for a “need-based” Tuition Grant which will reduce the tuition rate for eligible students.  Contact Dean of Admissions Wendy LaRiviere ( for details.
Application Fee $75.00
Late Application Fee (applications submitted after June 1) $250.00
Reservation Fee**(upon Acceptance) $500.00
Consolidated Student Fee (per year)  for 2015-2016 academic year $700.00
Late Registration Fee (per semester) $200.00
Withdrawal Fee (after the 1st day of classes) $200.00
Add/Drop Fee (per change) $50.00
Late TIP Payment Fee (after 15th of the month) $50.00
Loan Processing Fee $30.00
Makeup Exam Preparation Fee (per exam) $400.00
Makeup Exam/ Proctoring Admin Fee (per exam) $100.00
Certification Fee for Non-MCL Courses (per unit) $100.00
Graduation Fee $350.00

All items in red are Mandatory fees that are calculated during the registration process. Please make checks payable to “Monterey College of Law”. The law school also accepts VISA, MasterCard, American Express and Discover Card. Fees are subject to change upon reasonable notice. All fees are non-refundable.
** $250 of Reservation Fee is credited toward tuition upon enrollment.